Sarbananda Sonowal Sworn in As CM of Assam

Sarbanada Sonowal, who led BJP alliance to a massive victory in recently concluded assembly election in Assam, was sworn in as Chief Minister of Assam today at 4PM. It was attended by all BJP Chief Ministers in different states in India, many cabinet minister including PM Narendra Modi.

Sarbananda Sonowal Sworn in
Sarbananda Sonowal Sworn in

Along with CM Sarbananda Sonowal, Atul Bora of AGP, Himanta Biswa Sarma of BJP, Ranjit Dutta from BJP, Parimal Shuklabaidya of BJP, Naba Kumar Doley of BJP, Pallab Lochan Das of BJP,Chandra Mohan Patowari of BJP, Rihan Daimari of BPF, Pramilarani brahma of BPF, Atul Bora and Keshab Mahanta from AGP were also sworn in as ministers.

This is the first BJP government in Assam as well as in North East India. Himanta Biswa Sarma, who joined BJP from Congress, is widely regarded as one of the force behind the coalition as well as winning this election. He campaigned extensively for BJP in the state.

Congress was almost decimated with 26 seats while AIUDF won 13 seats. Only one independent, Bhubon Pegu won this time from Jonai under banner of Ganashakti, such was the BJP wave that swept the assembly election in Assam.

CM Sarbananda Sonowal had thanked people of Assam and promised to work for development of Assam. So far he has picked a right team of ministers who are mostly first time ministers barring Himanta Biswa Sarma, Chandra Mohan Patowari.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *