Election fever grips Assam

With announcement of dates for two phased Assembly Election in Assam in April 2016, election fever has gripped Assam. Assam Assembly Election 2016 will held held on 4 and 11 April 2016 in two stages, as announced by Election Commission, India. Vote counting will take place on 19th May 2016.

BJP, which is hoping to win Assam Assembly election in 2016, after very good performance in 2014 general election where it won 7 seats out of 14 Loksabha seats in Assam. It has projected Sarbananda Sonowal, an MP and tribal, as CM of Assam. Incidentally, Sarbananda Sonowal will be contesting from Majuli of Jorhat district.

BJP had tied up with AGP ( Asom Gana Parishad) and will contest in 88 seats while AGP will contest in 24 seats. Congress is also likely to come out with their candidate list by 12 March 2015.

It would be direct contest between BJP and Congress this time. Cong is facing anti-incumbency as it has been ruling party in Assam, for last 15 years. BJP, which is perceived as party for businessman in Assam, is projecting a tribal leader as its CM candidate for the first time in Assam. Sarbananda Sonowal belongs to Sonowal Kachari tribe in Assam and is MP from Lakhimpur constituency and a union cabinet minister. He was President of All Assam Student Union from 1992 to 1999.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *