Here are few quick information about North East India :-

1. Number of States : 8, Original members were Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland and Tripura. Sikkim joined later. But when we normally mean North East, we mean the original seven states, also known as ‘Seven Sisters’.

2. Except Manipur, all other states were once part of Assam, ( British clubbed them together as political entity).

3. Here are capitals of North Eastern States
a. Arunachal Pradesh – Itanagar
b. Assam – Dispur ( Guwahati )
c. Manipur – Imphal
d. Meghalaya – Shillong
e. Mizoram – Aizawl
f. Nagaland – Kohima
g.Tripura – Agartala

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *