Congress wins in Manipur

Congress is all set to form government in Manipur for the third consecutive time after winning 38 seats and leading in another 6 seats ( at the time of this filing of this report). TMC ( Trinamul Congress) has won 7 seats and Mamta Banerjee, TMC chief and Chief Minister of West Bengal had campaigned for TMC candidates here.

BJP had not won any seat. PDF ( Peoples Democratic Front) had suffered major reverses this time with winning only one seat.

Others including NPF ( Naga Peoples Front) wins 4, MSCP wins 3 and others wins 2.

The incumbent Chief Mnister O Ibobi Singh is likely to be invited to form Congress government again.

Chief minister Okram Ibobi Singh has retained his Thoubal seat defeating his rival Indira Oinam of BJP by over 15,000 votes. His wife Landhoni Devi retained her Khangabok seat defeating her main rival Jatra Singh of Manipur People’s Party (MPP) by over 9000 votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *