Tarun Gogoi nominated for Indian Politician of The Year 2011 by CNN IBN

Tarun Gogoi, the consecutive third time Chief Minister of Assam, has been nominated for Indian of The Year 2011, Politics category by CNN-IBN, New Delhi based English news channel.
Tarun Gogoi would compete for the award with the other nominees in the category include Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu J Jayalalithaa, Union Minister for Rural Development Jairam Ramesh, Chief Minister of West Bengal Mamata Banerjee, Union Minister for Law and Justice and Minority Affairs Salman Khurshid, former Union ministers Sushma Swaraj and Arun Jaitley (jointly).

This award will be given on 16th December 2011, at Taj Palace Hotel in New Delhi.

Tarun Gogoi had led Congress in Assam to third consecutive victory and in the process decimating the main opposition party Assam Gana Parishad ( AGP). While AGP was restricted to paltry 10 seats, Congress alone won 78 seats to get absolute majority on its own. But Congress chose to include their pre-poll ally BPF ( Bodoland Peoples Front) in the government, giving a cabinet berth to it.

Tarun Gogoi is also credited with starting peace talks with ULFA and centre. In the process, government released all top ULFA leaders lodged in Guwahati jail.

One thought on “Tarun Gogoi nominated for Indian Politician of The Year 2011 by CNN IBN

  • December 5, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    Friends, Would you like to Vote for your Favourite Indian who’s Contribution has Strengthen the Foundation with the Most Credible Award of the Nation. CNN IBN Indian of the Year 2011 Awards is back. The Voting Lines are open till 8th Dec, 2011 @ 11:59PM. You can Vote through our app Touch Voter India. To download visit http://www.touchvoter.com/ or SMS “VOTE” to 56070 and download the app.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *