Separate High Courts for Manipur, Tripura and Meghalaya

According to Union Law and Justice Minister, M Veerappa Moily, has said today central government has taken an initiative to set up separate high courts in the northeastern States of Tripura, Manipur and Meghalaya. Presently, seven sister states Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland and Tripura comes under Guwahati High Court.

A delegation of MPs from North Eastern states led by Tripura MP Khagen Das, met Veerappa Moily and urged to expedite the process of setting up separate High Courts for North Eastern States other than Assam.

The central government will have to amend the North-Eastern Areas (Reorganisation) Act, 1971, to set up separate high courts in Tripura, Manipur and Meghalaya. The first separate high court is likely to be set up in Tripura, followed by Manipur and Meghalaya.

Creation of new High Courts in respective states should help disposing of pending cases in Guwahati High courts as well as may help people approach high courts for justice.

News Source : Assam Tribune

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.